Kaufman County

Kaufman County Appraisal Office

State Comptrollers - Property Taxes

Pay Your Taxes By Credit Card
Office Calendar

Kaufman County Tax Office
Office Hours: 8:00 to 4:30 Monday Thru Friday

Kaufman County Annex
100 N. Washington
Kaufman, Texas 75142

Fax: 972.932.1413

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 339

Kaufman, TX 75142

Terrell Office
408 E. College
Terrell, TX 75160

Forney Office
200 E. Main Street
Forney, TX 75126

Kemp Office
103 N. Main
Kemp, TX 75143


Welcome to Kaufman County Tax Office

Because of the wide range of responsibilities performed by the assessor-collector, most citizens deal with this county official more frequently than any other office.

The major tax duty of the assessor-collector, who collects property taxes, is the assessment (calculation) of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax as established by the Constitution and the State Property Tax Code. In addition, as an agent of the Texas Department of Transportation, the assessor-collector is responsible for the registration and licensing of motor vehicles owned by residents of the county.

Another duty of the county tax assessor-collector is that of voter registrar. In most Texas counties, a person would register to vote through the office of county tax assessor-collector. In a few counties, the commissioner's court has designated the county clerk or an elections administrator to provide this function. The county tax office voter registration responsibilities include accepting applications for voter registration, issuing voter certificates, maintaining voter registration lists, verifying petitions for local option elections and submitting required reports to the Secretary of State's Office. In Kaufman County, the Tax Office is also responsible for Elections.

The county tax assessor-collector is also responsible for the collections of special fees imposed by the county and state on coin-operated vending machines, alcoholic beverage permits and registration.

The Kaufman County Tax Office is responsible for:

  • Tax Assessment and Collection of Property Taxes
  • Motor Vehicle Registration and Titles
  • Beer and Wine Applications
  • Dealer's Vehicle Inventory Tax
  • Voter Registration
  • Elections

The Kaufman County Tax Office is responsible for the collection of taxes for the following taxing entities:

Kaufman County Town of Oak Ridge
Crandall Independent School District City of Combine
Forney Independent School District Trinity Valley Community College District
Kaufman Independent School District Kaufman Emergency Services District
Kemp Independent School District Mabank Emergency Services District
Terrell Independent School District Terrell Emergency Services District
Scurry-Rosser Independent School District Kemp Emergency Services District
City of Crandall Surry-Rosser Emergency Services District
City of Forney Forney Emergency Services District
City of Kaufman Crandall Emergency Services District
City of Kemp Kaufman County Municipal Utility District #8
City of Mabank Kaufman County Municipal Utility District #11
City of Terrell Fox Hollow Public Improvement District #1

The Kaufman County Tax Office does not collect taxes for MUD5, MUD6 & MUD7

Copyright ©  True Automation, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Map Home Organization Online Services Tax Information Property Search